How To Find Vegan Friendly Beer

Vegan friendly beer is handy to know when drinking your favorite beer.  Fortunately, many Maine breweries pass the vegan test, according to Barnivore. I have many friends who are vegan who believe they are not allowed to drink beer. After strenuous research, I discovered that they can enjoy the liquid gold just as much as I can. But what does it mean for a craft beer to be vegan friendly? Why should you care? These are questions I will be answering.

I am not a vegan but learning what constitutes a vegan beer really peaks my interest. Sometimes breweries use animal products in the brewing process. There is even a rare process where a brewer will drop a whole chicken (scary).  So I would love to know if the beer in my hand is not made with any animal products.

Barnivore is a very extensive database that has liquor, wine, and beer. The site tells you if a brewery or winery are vegan friendly or not.

I live in Maine and love to drink Maine craft beer. Here are a few brews you can drink if you were vegan:

  • Peak Organic Brewing Company
  • Allagash Brewing Company
  • Baxter  Brewing Company
  • Atlantic Brewing Company
  • Sebago Brewing Company
  • Gearys Brewing Company
Vegan friendly beer never crossed my mind until I heard someone tell me they were not allowed to drink beer because they were vegan. That threw up a red flag in my mind. In this nation, everyone has the right to enjoy beer. That includes vegans and people with a gluten allergy. Gluten free beer and vegan friendly beer are definitely within reach!
With this new found vegan knowledge, I hope you will go out and try more beers. Just because you are vegan, doesn’t mean you cannot enjoy beer like the rest of us.
Benjamin Moore
Athlete, Beer Connoisseur, and all around Geek
Email me at

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Benjamin Moore
Benjamin Moore is a craft beer blogger based in Southern Maine, his blog Active Beer Geek is dedicated to craft beer and fitness. Ben is a communications student at USM and VP of USM Enactus, Host of #BeerChat every Thursday night at 9pm EST on Twitter, a purple belt in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, long distance running, kilt wearing member of the Novare Res Uprising.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Migration Week In Portland, Maine


Goose Island Brewing Company spent a week in Portland, Maine and brought some awesomely rare beers with them. Sales reps, […]

A New Maine Brewery That Only Barrel Ferments


Matt Mills and Chris Schofield have started a new brewery in Saco, Maine that are only doing barrel fermentation: Barreled […]

Staying Fit While Traveling


It’s getting increasingly difficult to stay active while traveling. You may be on vacation or just on a business trip. […]

Portland Runs For The Beer!

Craft brew races portland maine

Running and Beer? My two favorite things! Craft Brew Races makes it’s debut in Portland, Maine tomorrow May 24th! What […]

Beer Vs. Beer | Heady Topper VS. Substance

BvB Substance

Substance vs. Heady Topper This is a first in a series of Beer vs. Beer posts. The inaugural head to […]

var _gaq = _gaq || []; _gaq.push([\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\'_setAccount\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\', \\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\'UA-28384035-1\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\']); _gaq.push([\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\'_trackPageview\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\']); (function() { var ga = document.createElement(\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\'script\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\'); ga.type = \\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\'text/javascript\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\'; ga.async = true; ga.src = (\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\'https:\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\' == document.location.protocol ? \\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\'https://ssl\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\' : \\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\'http://www\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\') + \\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\'\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\'; var s = document.getElementsByTagName(\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\'script\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\')[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(ga, s); })();